Introduction to Wound Healing

Phases of Wound Healing

Phases of wound healing

Four phases to wound healing:

A. Hemostasis

  • Immediate; 0 to 2 days in length
  • Thrombin converts to fibrinogen
  • Coagulation from dilated vessels

B. Inflammatory Phase

  • 2 to 4 days in length
  • Characterized by pain, redness, heat, swelling and loss of function at the site of injury
  • If inflammation lasts longer than 48-72 hours, look for evidence of new or ongoing tissue damage or infection
  • The body’s protective response to injury

C. Proliferative Phase

  • 4 to 21 days in length
  • Involves the rebuilding of tissue; Filling the wound by granulation, contracting the wound through contraction and converting the wound through epithelialization
  • Includes remodeling; Strengthens

D. Maturation Phase

  • Can take up to 2 years in length
  • Wound gains tensile strength
  • The wound appears to be healed but is actually closed over.  Collagen production and reorganization will be ongoing for two years.

return to Introduction to Wound Healing

back to top

LHSCHealth Professionals

Please Note

The content and images on the Wound Care Site are intended for Health Professionals and may be disturbing to some.
Last Updated July 20, 2009 | © 2007, LHSC, London Ontario Canada