Dr. Ken Leslie

2017 Recipient

President’s Award for Physician Leadership

Dr. Ken Leslie

Dr. Ken Leslie is the Chief of General Surgery. He has been at London Health Sciences Centre for 22 years. Through his leadership, Dr. Leslie’s mission has been dedicated to ensuring the Division of General Surgery delivers high-quality care, with a deep understanding of the importance of maintaining a robust academic program and developing future leaders.

Dr. Leslie’s nominators credit him for several initiatives that have bolstered the Division of General Surgery. As one nominator notes, “Many of the projects Ken has promoted have improved patient care, patient safety, quality, and has decreased cost to the institution.” One key initiative spearheaded by Dr. Leslie was the Rapid Standardized Operating Rooms (RAPSTOR) project with the aim of developing high efficiency operating rooms through case uniformity, efficient turnovers and equipment standardization. As a result, procedures have been streamlined in the OR, with a higher volume performed on a standard OR day at a lower cost. Dr. Leslie engaged multiple disciplines, including anaesthesia, nursing and day surgery staff in appreciation of the efforts and dedication of each team member that was required to ensure the success of this initiative.

A theme in Dr. Leslie’s nomination letters was his recognition of the importance of working clinically at both University and Victoria Hospitals in understanding issues, successes, and areas for improvement on the ground level. This hands-on approach to leadership has strengthened the skills of those who learn from him. Due to his openness to listen to others and tackle difficult challenges, one of his nominators refers to him as the “people’s leader.”

2017 Nominees

  • *Dr. Ken Leslie
  • *Dr. Adam Dukelow
  • Dr. Kylea Potvin
  • Dr. Alaina Aguanno
  • Dr. Gopakumar Nair
  • Dr. Nicholas Power
  • Dr. Patricia Hall
  • Dr. Ram Singh
  • Dr. Subrata Chakrabarti
  • Dr. Volker Hocke