Dr. Kylea Potvin

2018 Recipient

President's Award for Physician Leadership

Kylea Potvin

Dr. Kylea Potvin, Medical Oncologist and Program Director, Medical Oncology Residency Program, is the 2018 recipient of the President’s Award for Physician Leadership.

Dr. Potvin has been the Director of the Medical Oncology Residency Program for the past 10 years. Under her leadership, she has further developed the training program which has received national recognition for innovation and for the quality of trainees. Additionally, she serves as a mentor to trainees, ensuring their academic success and also their personal wellbeing in this challenging area of practice.

Dr. Potvin is known as a passionate advocate for her patients, and demonstrates compassion and skill in addressing their physical and emotional needs. She has developed and leads the ACT NOW Patient Assistance Fund, a program that supports the cost of cancer medications that are medically necessary but are not funded through any provincial, private insurance or pharma access programs. Dr. Potvin has also created a Serious Illness Discussion workshop to help facilitate crucial conversations between caregivers and patients in order to better understand goals in relation to treatment and end-of-life care.

In addition to Dr. Potvin’s professional achievements, her nominators describe her as an authentic, passionate leader who brings humour and heart to her work which inspires confidence, enthusiasm and buy-in from others.

2018 Nominees

  • Dr. Subrata Chakrabarti
  • Dr. Wael Haddara
  • Dr. Andrea Lum
  • Dr. Stephen Pautler
  • Dr. Kylea Potvin*
  • Dr. Karl Theakston