Joanne Clark

2015 Recipient

President’s Award for Community Service

Joanne Clark profile photo

Joanne Clark is an administrative assistant in the Renal Program at LHSC’s Kidney Care Centre, and has worked at LHSC for 28 years. Joanne is the 2015 recipient of the President’s Award for Community Service, recognizing her 10 years of service to the Red Circle Hockey Club, a not-for-profit organization committed to “equal opportunity regardless of ability.”

Joanne’s involvement with the club began 17 years ago when her oldest child joined the league, and in 2005 she agreed to take on the duties of Team Manager for her child’s hockey team. Since then, each year as new needs arose within the club Joanne has taken on increasingly demanding roles, growing from team manager and league convenor, to serving on the Board of Directors, becoming the Director in charge of Timekeepers, being elected as league VP and now serving as Secretary – all long after two of her three children have graduated out of the club. These various roles have required an enormous time commitment from Joanne, not limited to the winter months but one that includes spring and summer planning as well.

Joanne looks for innovative ways to make the club more efficient, including in her role of Director in Charge of Timekeepers. Prior to her taking on this role there was not a process for interviewing applicants, and so Joanne created an interview tool and established an interview process that is adaptable to be age-appropriate as timekeepers can be as young as 12 years old. Joanne has also designed a training package for all of these new hires.

Parents and other Board members describe Joanne as an inspiration to their children and themselves to volunteer more as she encourages others to make a contribution of their time and talents. The Red Circle Hockey Club has benefited from Joanne’s leadership skills, dedication, and care. Joanne’s efforts have ensured that other children have the opportunity to participate in organized sport—something that would not be possible for many of these children without this organization.

2015 Nominees

  • *Joanne Clark
  • Phil Hunt
  • Vince LeFaive
  • Marina Loeffelholz
  • Beth Mitchell
  • Loraine Warnock