PODS Team (Phase 1) - UH Acute Medicine

2018 Recipient

President's Award for Innovation


The Patient Oriented Discharge Summary (PODS) Team is this year’s recipient for the President’s Award for Innovation. The team includes Dr. Andrew Appleton, Claire Martin, Dr. Alan Gob, Dr. Erin Spicer, Andrea Cowan, Ann Turcotte, Anne Forster, Tara Caslick, Anne Leckie, Vicky Baroudi, Lisa Dawtrey, Tammy Steele, Tammy Fisher, Helen Sumpter, Carolyn Burke, Kristine Millman, Betty Mayville, Beccy Roden, Sherry Ostapiuk, Michelle Hennessy, Donna Simpson, Robin Francis, and Sue Vollbrecht.

In 2017, the team launched PODS as a pilot project in the Medicine Unit at University Hospital after identifying that patients who have been discharged often lacked an understanding of details of their care and treatment throughout their hospital stay. Many of these patients also struggled to manage their care from home following discharge, and risked readmission as a result.

In response, the PODS team created a tool to allow discharged patients to communicate with their entire multidisciplinary health-care team from home. This included partnering with community health organizations and the patient’s family doctor to have access to the tool in order to facilitate a collaborative, fulsome approach to providing care following discharge and improving communication between key stakeholders. The tool allows a patient to view their discharge details in one place, including follow up appointment information, contacts and resources, patient education materials, and notes from their care providers. The tool also allows patients to report changes to their routine and symptoms.

Following the success of the pilot project, PODS was implemented in the Medicine Unit at Victoria Hospital. There are also plans to implement PODS in all inpatient areas throughout LHSC.

Nominators describe the PODS team as a dedicated, passionate group whose creativity has led to improved communication between care providers and patients and has allowed for patients to be more actively involved in their care. The team as demonstrates the qualities of innovators by utilizing their areas of expertise in inventive ways to strive for service excellence and enhance patient care.

2018 Nominees

  • Kristen Webb
  • PODS Team (Phase 1) – UH Acute Medicine*