Sandy Jansen

2013 Recipient

President’s Award for Leadership

Sandy Jansen

Sandy Jansen is LHSC’s Director of Pharmacy Services.

Soon after she assumed this role in 2011, Sandy identified that Pharmacy Services had cultural challenges and implemented PharmaSEE (Pharmacy Staff Engagement and Empowerment), a series of six education sessions that brought forward the issues in the department. Together, she helped the team develop a dialogue on creating a new culture, empowered staff to be engaged and taught effective communication to support a culture that is resilient and strong against internal and external pressures.

Sandy demonstrates confidence and enthusiasm on a daily basis in her interactions with staff, both within and external to pharmacy services. Through her leadership, influence and impact, the Medication Reconciliation Project had a successful implementation. The project is now recognized nationally by the Institute for Safe Medication Practices, Safer Healthcare Now, and the Canadian Patient Safety Institute, making LHSC a national leader in the medication reconciliation community across Canada.

Sandy has a genuine interest in supporting and developing her team, identifying and encouraging those with potential to seek new or increased leadership opportunities. She has enabled staff that are interested in building their careers to capitalize on opportunities to gain further experience in the workplace, creating stretch opportunities that support learning and development.

Sandy is described as a driving force to influence change and someone who inspires the best in everyone around her.

2013 Nominees

  • *Sandy Jansen
  • Jaclyn Kasprzak
  • Stacey Larizza
  • Dan Logie
  • Deborah Wiseman
  • Cathy Wood
  • Jennifer Yoon