Suzanne Schwab

2018 Recipient

President's Award for Leadership

Suzanne Schwab

Suzanne Schwab is this year’s recipient of the President’s Award for Leadership. Suzanne has worked at LHSC for 30 years and is currently the Manager of Medical Device Reprocessing (MDR) at Victoria Hospital. Suzanne is described as a natural leader with the ability to foster effective relationships both in her department and throughout the organization. She has worked hard with her team to increase awareness of the importance of MDR to all clinical operations and their integral role in providing safe, high-quality patient care. Through her partnerships with other departments, Suzanne has sought to understand challenges in order to improve service and create positive change.

Suzanne’s reasoned approach to leadership and her ability to establish more challenging work standards for her teams has enhanced the quality of work in MDR. This, in turn, has led to process improvements that have benefitted LHSC. For example, Suzanne has led the implementation of improved central reprocessing practices for procedural instruments, which improves patient safety and establishes more consistency when reprocessing instruments.

Each of her nominators described a key strength of Suzanne’s leadership as her ability to recognize the perspectives and expertise of each team member. Suzanne has facilitated a positive work environment through her belief in putting people first and inspiring confidence in her team as a result.

2018 Nominees

  • Julie Brochu
  • Trish Fitzpatrick
  • Maureen Leyser
  • Erika Mugridge
  • Suzanne Schwab*