Cancer Disease Site Teams

Disease Site Council

The Disease Site Council (DSC) was established in October 2005. Its mandate is to provide a forum for Senior Medical Physicians/Leaders and Scientists to dialogue, engage in decision-making and present recommendations to the Executive Leadership Committee on issues related to the development of comprehensive and quality cancer care.

To view a copy of the DSC Terms of reference click here

The Council is a link between the Executive Leadership Committee of LRCP and the Disease Site Teams (DST).

Dr. Karin Hahn , Senior Medical Director chairs the Council comprised of team members from radiation oncology, surgical oncology, systemic therapy, nursing, and research.

Council meetings are open to all LRCP staff.

Disease Site Teams at LRCP

  • Breast
  • Central Nervous System
  • Gastrointestinal
  • Genitourinary
  • Gynecology
  • Head and Neck
  • Hematology
  • Neuroendocrine
  • Sarcoma
  • Skin
  • Thoracic

The mandate of each Disease Site Team is to provide a patient-centered forum where the collaborative and integrated knowledge and expertise of all interdisciplinary, professional health care members plan and develop comprehensive cancer care for their patient population.

The team compositions vary but are represented by the lead Medical Director, medicine, advanced practice nurse, nursing, pharmacy, supportive care, palliative medicine, clinical nutrition, research scientists, pathology, radiology and surgery.

Each DST conducts weekly Cancer Care Conferences or “tumour boards” where patient cases are prospectively and retrospectively reviewed and a comprehensive plan of care is determined.

Other functions of the DST relate to program development and the integration of clinical best practice e.g. Clinical Practice Guidelines, administration, research, local and regional education and data/quality program monitoring.

To view a copy of the DST Terms of Reference click here.

Contacts for Disease Site Teams

Call 519-685-8600 plus the following extension:


Disease Site Team Director/Deputy Director Extension


Dr. Tracy Sexton / Dr. Liz Saettler


Central Nervous System

Dr. David Macdonald / Dr. Maria MacDonald



Dr. Patrick Colquhoun



Dr. Nick Power / Dr. Kylea Potvin



Dr. Stephen Welch / Dr. Jacob (Jake) McGee


Head and Neck

Dr. Anthony Nichols / Dr. David Palma



Dr. Leonard Minuk / Dr. Anargyros Xenocostas


Neuroendocrine Dr. Amol Mujoomdar / Dr. Doug Quan 55872/33355


Dr. Alex Hammond / Dr. Diane Logan



Dr. Scott Ernst / Dr. Kathryn Roth



Dr. Brian Yaremko/Dr. Jawaid Younas



Helpful Links:

American Society of Clinical Oncology (ASCO)

British Columbia Cancer Agency – Care & Research

Cancer Care Nova Scotia

Cancer Care Ontario

European Society for Medical Oncology

Journal of Clinical Oncology

MD Anderson Cancer Centre

National Breast Cancer Centre (Australia)

National Cancer Institute

National Comprehensive Cancer Network