

Southwest Ontario Regional Base Hospital Program

October 19, 2016

2016 Ontario Association of Paramedic Chiefs (OAPC) Award Recipients

The following SWORBHP Paramedics were presented awards at the 2016 Ontario Association of Paramedic Chiefs' EMS Honours and Awards Gala to recognize excellence in paramedic services and the practice of paramedicine in Ontario. The Gala was held on Sep 29, 2016.

The Dr. Norman H. McNally Award

This Award recognizes acts of conspicuous bravery by paramedics in the performance of their duties. The 2016 Award recipients from SWORBHP are:

Matt Breadner and Tiffany Shaw

Grey County Paramedic Service

In August 2015, Breadner and Shaw witnessed a head-on collision that involved nine people on Highway 6/10 south of Owen Sound. When one of the vehicles caught fire with people stranded inside, Breadner and Shaw entered the vehicle through its back doors to bring the person to safety.

Nick Maus and Kyle Stewart

Grey County Paramedic Services

In August 2015, Maus and Stewart were the first emergency response professionals to arrive on the scene of two houses engulfed in flames. After alerting residents of the immediate danger, they entered one of the buildings and rescued four individuals.

Congratulations Matt, Tiffany, Nick and Kyle!

The OAPC Humanitarian Award

This Award recognizes an act or acts of unselfish donation of time and/or money by paramedic or emergency medical services professionals to relieve the suffering of humanity. It is not an annual award and only presented on merit. This 2016 Award recipient from SWORBHP is:

Jennifer Cription

Middlesex-London EMS and Medavie Elgin EMS

Cripton has volunteered through Scouts Canada on a number of international deployments. She spent a month in Kenya building and operating a new medical clinic and has travelled to Peru to rebuild a local school.

Through Global Medic, Cripton has been deployed to the Philippines after Typhoon Haiyan, to Nepal following the devastating earthquake, and most recently to Greece, to help with the influx of war refugees. Cripton also oversaw efforts to secure an ambulance for an impoverished area of Nicaragua.

Congratulations Jennifer!

Emergency Medical Services Exemplary Service Medal

The Award is presented to paramedics who have served for at least 20 years in a meritorious manner, characterized by the highest standards of good conduct, industry and efficiency. To qualify, at least ten of these years of service must have been street level (or air) duty involving potential risk to the individual.

The 2016 Emergency Medical Services Exemplary Service Medal recipients from SWORBHP are:

Bruce County

Jeff Aiken – Medal Darryl Hopcroft – Medal Robert Rouse – Medal

Chatham-Kent

Christopher Allsop – Medal Paul Fontaine – Medal Nicholas Leclerc – Medal Michael Manery – Medal Anthony Metayer – Medal David Mireault – Medal Stephen Pancino – Medal Mark Shaw – Medal

Essex-Windsor

Thomas LeClair – Medal and Bar David Thibodeau – Medal

Grey County

Kevin McNab – Medal Alvin Young – Medal and Bar

Huron County

Mark Crawford – Medal Chief Jeff Horseman - Medal William Lewis – Medal Marion Taylor – Medal

Lambton County

Brian Clark – Medal William Garrett – Medal and Bar

Middlesex-London

Terry Irwin – Medal and Bar Wayne Renkema – Medal

Oxford County

Theressa De Jong – Medal Stephen Turner – Medal Patricia Vanleeuwen – Medal John Winspear – Medal

Congratulations everyone!

The Award Recipient from SWORBHP recognized for **40 years** of service and receiving their Second Bar to the Medal is:

Michael Wraith - Middlesex-London

The Award recipients from SWORBHP recognized for **30 years** of service and receiving their First Bar to the Medal are:

Robert Bell – Grey Roman Chorostil - Oxford Andrew Closs – Essex-Windsor Richard Gerber – Perth Gerald Hedges – Essex-Windsor Al Hunt – Middlesex-London Michael Hurst – Middlesex-London Anthony Jaroszewicz – Essex-Windsor John Kekhove – Oxford James Kirby - Perth Ken Langlois – Chatham-Kent Grant Martin – Chatham-Kent Kevin McKay – Middlesex-London Gary Pinnell – Middlesex-London David Renaud - Oxford Tom Russell - Perth

Awarded posthumously: Chief Joseph Pember, Jr., Oxford County Paramedic Services

Congratulations everyone!