

Southwest Ontario Regional Base Hospital Program

SWORBHP/UWO Abstracts Accepted for NAEMSP 2011

We are extremely pleased to announce that 5 abstracts submitted to the NAEMSP (National Association of EMS Physicians) annual conference have been accepted for presentation.

Stephanie Romano's (Regional Paramedic Educator) research abstract entitled "Analysis of Paramedic Error on Ambulance Call Reports" was accepted as a poster presentation. Congratulations to Stephanie and co-authors Dr. Matt Davis (EMS resident), Dr. Adam Dukelow (Local Medical Director), Dr. Mike Lewell



(Regional Medical Director), Shelley McLeod (EM Research Co-ordinator) and Severo Rodriguez (Regional Program Manager).

Paul Robinson's (Professional Standards Specialist) abstract entitled **"Does call volume and training level result in lower rates of error?"** was selected to be presented as a poster at this year's conference. Congratulations to Paul and co-authors Dr. Matt Davis, Dr. Adam Dukelow, Dr. Mike Lewell, Shelley McLeod and Severo Rodriguez.

Dr. Matt Davis (EMS resident, EM PGY-4) has been invited to present the results of his study entitled **"The utility of the pre-hospital ECG in LHSC emergency departments."** Please join me in congratulating Matt along with Dr. Adam Dukelow, Dr. Mike Lewell and Shelly McLead and Severo Rodriguez, who are co-authors of the study.

Dr. Sameer Mal (EM PGY-3) has been invited to present the results of his study entitled "The impact of Autopulse on the rate of return of spontaneous circulation in out of hospital cardiac arrest in Oxford County." Congratulations to Sameer along with Dr. Adam Dukelow, Dr. Mike Lewell, Dr. Matt Davis, Shelley McLeod and Severo Rodriguez who were the co-authors of the study.

Congratulations to recent CCFP-EM graduates **Dr. Thivian Vandeyar** and **Dr. Andrea Sereda** who will be presenting their resident research project "A comparison of CTAS scoring between paramedics and triage nurses: A retrospective review" at NAEMSP this year. Many thanks and congratulations to co-authors Dr. Adam Dukelow, Dr. Mike Lewell, Dr. Matt Davis, Shelley McLeod and Severo Rodriguez.

All abstracts will be published in Prehospital Emergency Care's January/March 2011 edition Please join us in congratulating Stephanie, Paul, Matt, Sameer, Thiv, Andrea, Mike, Adam, Shelley and Severo on their outstanding success!

Link to NAEMSP website: www.naemsp.or