Celebrating LHSC's nurses

May 30, 2017

The dedication, contribution and achievements of the over 3,600 nurses who provide care for patients at London Health Sciences Centre (LHSC) were celebrated May 8-14 during National Nursing Week. 

In advance of this important week of recognition each year, LHSC seeks nominations for its Nursing Excellence Awards, which serve as an opportunity to highlight the extraordinary individual and team practice of nursing in our organization. This year, five awards were handed out to the following winners as part of the two special nursing celebratory events that were held at both University and Victoria Hospitals.

  • Point of Care Nursing – Laurie McKellar, NP, ACE Unit
  • Nursing Team – VH Medicine CQI Council
  • Everyday Nursing Leadership – Cheryl Kee, NP, Cardiac Surgery Recovery Unit
  • Embracing New Technology – Kristina Deaville, Erin MacDonald and Kate Rivett, RNs, Emergency Department
  • Outstanding Preceptor – Fernando Davila, RN, Medical/Surgical Intensive Care

“We are incredibly proud to celebrate the great work that happens every second, of every single day, because of our nurses,” says Julia Marchesan, Director, Nursing Professional Practice at LHSC. “LHSC is the second largest employer of nurses in the province, so it’s not surprising that we received so many praiseworthy nominations for great nurses this year, and I think we’ll continue to see that number rise in the coming years as we continue to celebrate and support one another in the achievement of exemplary patient care.”

Congratulations go out to all of the incredible 2017 winners and nominees:

Point of Care Nursing

  • Rosa Cantadeiro
  • Brenda Hutton
  • Marianne Malchesky
  • Neil McBride
  • Laurie McKellar (winner)
  • Marissa Smith
  • Melanie Watson

Nursing team

  • 8IP Surgical Inpatient Nursing Team
  • 9IP Orthopaedics Nursing Team
  • Citywide Critical Care Skills Fair Project Team
  • Neuro Nursing Team (UH – Operating Room)
  • Nursing Resource Team
  • Renal Regional Resource Team
  • VH Medicine CQI Council (winner)

Everyday Nursing Leadership

  • John (Hank) Ager
  • Cheryl Cook
  • Leslie Cook
  • Camilo Jaramillo
  • Cheryl Kee (winner)
  • Heather Lennox
  • Nancy Malcho
  • Mary Smith
  • Jeremy Masse
  • Neil McBride

Embracing New Technology

  • Kristina Deaville, Erin MacDonald,  and Kate Rivett (winners)
  • Laurie McKellar

Outstanding Preceptor

  • 9IP Orthopaedics RN team
  • Fernando Davila (winner)
  • Paul Griffiths
  • Ashton Jones
  • Andrew McCarthy
  • Jamie Mulligan

Visit LHSC’s Facebook page to see photos from both events.