Emergency Medicine Department Awards celebrate staff and physician excellence

July 16, 2018

The second annual Emergency Medicine Department Awards were held at the beginning of June, recognizing the outstanding accomplishments and performance of staff and physicians across the citywide Division and Department of Emergency Medicine.

First introduced in 2017 by Associate Professor of Medicine and Emergency Medicine Provider Value Officer, Dr. Laura Foxcroft and Chair Chief of Emergency Medicine, Dr. Adam Dukelow, the citywide awards program was created to bring recognition to the excellence and greatness in individuals and teams that make up the network of providers working together to ensure patients receive emergency care 24/7 across the city.

“We know there are a variety of awards programs throughout London hospitals, but we felt it was important to have our own unique emergency medicine awards to recognize the tireless efforts that our staff and physicians put forward,” says Dr. Dukelow. “These awards are particularly meaningful at this time as we are regularly experiencing prolonged periods of full occupancy in our EDs, and the value of taking a moment to formally appreciate and recognize one another is incredibly significant. Our hope is that the awards will continue to encourage the excellence, growth and collegiality the teams have demonstrated to-date.”

Awards were presented across two categories, Department Awards which focus on clinical achievements and Division awards which acknowledge the academic efforts of the Emergency Medicine team members. LHSC is pleased to congratulate the following winners:

Department Awards

  • Allied Health Award of Excellence – Brittany Algar
  • Chair Chief Team Award – Alaina Aguanno, Meggan Brine and Camilo Jaramillo
  • Communication Clerk Award UH site – Betsy Mickanuck
  • Communication Clerk Award VH site – Colleen Ryers
  • Communication Clerk Award Children’s ED – Nellie Johnston
  • Communication Clerk Award St. Joseph’s site – Saul Edwards
  •  Diagnostic Radiology Resident Award – Harry Marshall
  • Emergency Department Technician Award UH site – Jamie Sweetman
  • Emergency Department Technician Award VH site – Danny Madruga
  • Emergency Nursing Award UH site – Jane Kruspel, Julie Manning, and Jennifer Salinitri
  • Emergency Nursing Award VH site – Jeannie Leighfield, Al McConnell  and Ausra Narusevicius
  • Emergency Nursing Award Children’s ED – Karen Patrick
  • Emergency Nursing Award St. Joseph’s site – Suzanne Dubeau
  • Emergency RPN Nursing Award VH site – Susan Hines
  • Emergency RPN Nursing Award St. Joseph’s site – Marion McQueen
  • EMLondon Award of Excellence – Dana Garner
  • Environmental Service Worker Award UH – Ian Kingston
  • Environmental Service Worker Award VH – Lynnette Day
  • Excellence in Faculty Distribution Site Award – Geoff Mills
  • Nursing Clinical Educator Award – Kelly Miller

Division Awards

  • Administrative Assistant Award – Melanie Rose
  • Distinguished Clinician Award – Scott Anderson
  • Dr. Drew Thompson POCUS Award – Frank Myslik
  • Dr. Jon Dreyer Research Excellence Award – Kristine VanAarsen
  • Lifetime Achievement Award – Don Gutoski
  • Medical Education Educator Award – Ram Reddy
  • PEM Fellowship Teacher Award – Tim Lynch
  • Postgraduate Award of Excellence – Ryan Arbeau
  • Professional Development Educator Award – Behzad Hassani
  • Resident Choice Award – Dave Murphy
  • Senior Resident Award – Allie McConnell
  • Simulation Excellence Award – Gurinder Sangha

To see more photos from the award ceremony, visit our Facebook album.