Emergency Medicine Department Awards celebrate staff and physician excellence


On June 13, emergency medicine (EM) celebrated their Third Annual Emergency Medicine Department Awards. Once again, the number of nominations increased recognizing the excellent work in the citywide division and department of emergency medicine. This year, two new awards were also introduced to recognize the important collaboration between EM and radiology and EM and medicine: the Radiology Resident Award and the Senior Medicine Resident Award.

First introduced in 2017 by Dr. Laura Foxcroft and Dr. Adam Dukelow, the Department of Emergency Medicine Awards were created to recognize emergency department (ED) staff that have gone above and beyond to make the ED experience better for patients and staff alike. Nominations come from the three citywide emergency facilities at Victoria Hospital, University Hospital and St. Joseph’s Urgent Care Centre.

“This awards program is a highlight for our collective emergency medicine team,” says Dr. Christie MacDonald, Interim Chair and Citywide Chief of Emergency Medicine.  “The awards provide an opportunity to recognize and thank individuals in our program who provide excellence in a number of realms including patient care, education, mentorship and lifetime achievement. We have grown the awards program to recognize excellence in our colleagues from other disciplines; and our hope is that the awards continue to develop and encourage exceptional quality and collegiality among our team”. 

Awards were presented across two categories, Department Awards which focus on clinical achievements and Division awards which acknowledge the academic efforts of the EM team members. LHSC is pleased to congratulate the following winners:

Department Awards
•    Allied Health Award of Excellence – Karen Groeneweg
•    Chair Chief Individual Award – Dr. John Gibson
•    Communication Clerk Award UH site – Val Nichols
•    Communication Clerk Award VH site –Chelle Rimell
•    Communication Clerk Award St. Joseph’s site – Emma Wright
•    Diagnostic Radiology Resident Award – Dr. Caitlin Ward
•    ED Support Award – Krys Leeyoungerowe
•    Emergency Department Technician Award UH site – Zoie Jones
•    Emergency Department Technician Award VH site –Mark Piwowarcyzk
•    Emergency Nursing Award UH site – Tracey Wynen, April Iarusso and Helga Givens
•    Emergency Nursing Award VH site – Stacee Caskey, Sarrah Towne and Jennifer Wright
•    Emergency Nursing Award Children’s ED – Sandra Wood
•    Emergency Nursing Award St. Joseph’s site – Alex Pasqual and Bonnie Tupholme
•    Emergency RPN Nursing Award VH site – Ryan Quintal
•    Emergency RPN Nursing Award St. Joseph’s site –  Nicole Meech
•    Environmental Service Worker Award UH – Alex Dahl
•    Environmental Service Worker Award VH – Nancy Hackett
•    Excellence in Faculty Distribution Site Award – Dr. James Menlove
•    Nursing Clinical Educator Award – Maggie Biernat

Division Awards 
•    Administrative Assistant Award – Leanne Siebenmorgen
•    Dr. Drew Thompson POCUS Award – Dr. Heather Hames
•    Dr. Jon Dreyer Research Excellence Award – Dr. Justin Yan
•    Dr. John Gibson Faculty Wellness Award – Dr. Barbara Tatham
•    Lifetime Achievement Award – Dr. Dave Warren
•    Physician Mentorship Award – Dr. Laura Foxcroft
•    Postgraduate Award of Excellence – Dr. Munsif Bhimani
•    Professional Development Educator Award – Dr. Alaina Aguanno and Dr. Meggan Brine
•    Psychiatry Award – Dr. Lauren Riggin
•    Resident Choice Award – Dr. Dave Murphy
•    Senior Medicine Resident Award – Dr. Omar Mourad
•    Emergency Medicine Senior Resident Award – Dr. Chantal Forristal
•    Simulation Excellence Award – Dr. Helen Levin
•    Undergraduate Award of Excellence – Dr. Laura Price

To see more photos from the award ceremony, visit our Facebook album