Lawson Impact Awards celebrates research excellence and innovation

April 22, 2016

Lawson Health Research Institute hosted its annual Lawson Impact Awards on April 13, celebrating hospital-based scientists, staff, trainees and partners who are making an impact in London, and around the world. 

More than 300 guests attended the event, including Howard Rundle, Lawson Board Chair, Paul Hubert, Deputy Mayor of London, and senior leaders from LHSC, St. Joseph’s, and Western University.

The evening included dinner, awards presentations, and a keynote address by Dr. Rishi Desai.  A paediatric infectious disease physician at Stanford Hospital, Dr. Desai is heavily involved in online medical education. He previously led the Khan Academy, Health and Medicine and is currently the Chief Medical Officer at Osmosis, a collaborative, web-based learning platform for medical students. 

There were nine recipients of the Lawson Impact Awards, recognizing excellence in academics, leadership, training, operations, industry, and innovation. Congratulations to the 2016 award recipients:

  • Scientist Career Award: Dr. William Clark, Nephrology
  • Innovation Award: Dr. Stephen P. Lownie, Neurology
  • Dr. Joseph Gilbert Research Contribution of the Year Award: Dr. Fred Dick, for his publication “Haploinsufficiency of an RB-E2F1-Condensin II Complex Leads to Aberrant Replication and Aneuploidy” published in Cancer Discovery.
  • Staff Award of Excellence: Richard McClelland, Operation s Lead, Cancer Clinical Research Unit
  • Leadership Award: Swati Mehta, CORRE Rehabilitation Research Group, and team recipients Kaitlin Al and Samantha Whiteside, Urology.
  • Industry Partner of the Year Award: Merz Pharma Canada Ltd.
  • Community Partner of the Year Award: Mike Schlater, Domino’s Pizza Canada

“Our researchers work every day to discover new ways to drive efficiency and reduce costs, find new methods of services, improve procedures and create entirely new ones – all with the goal of improving patient care,” says Dr. David Hill, Scientific Director, Lawson Health Research Institute. “The Lawson Impact Awards recognize the people, partnerships and innovations moving health research forward.”