President's Award program recognizes the extraordinary people at LHSC

December 16, 2015

At a special ceremony and reception on Dec. 11, LHSC’s President and CEO Murray Glendining and Board Chair Tom Gergely recognized 18 nominees and awarded six individuals with a 2015 President’s Award.

“LHSC is home to many remarkable staff, physicians and volunteers who are committed to improving the lives of our patients, our hospital, and our community,” says Glendining. “I am honoured to offer my sincere congratulations to each of this year’s President’s Award nominees and recipients.”

Now in its ninth year, the President’s Award Program at LHSC celebrates staff, physicians and volunteers in a number of categories. This year the following awards were presented: 

  • The President's Award for Community Service recognizes an individual at LHSC whose volunteer achievements have made a difference to the lives of people in our community. Joanne Clark is an administrative assistant in the Renal Program at LHSC’s Kidney Care Centre. Through her work with the Red Circle Hockey Club, a not-for-profit organization committed to “equal opportunity regardless of ability,” Joanne is helping ensure all children have the opportunity to participate in organized sport.
  • The President's Awards for Living Our Core Valuesrecognizes two individuals who consistently demonstrate LHSC’s values of respect, trust and collaboration – one focused on how we work together and the other on how we serve our patients:
    • Kimberly Schlegel has been recognized by her colleagues for demonstrating our core values in “How We Work Together.” Kimberly is the Enhanced Psychogeriatric Resource Consultant with the Behavioural Response Team (BRT) at LHSC’s Mental Health Care Program. Kimberly’s presence, strong work ethic and patient-centred care approach inspire and influence the success of the Behavioural Response Team. She continues to build positive relationships with the team, the hospital, and the community.
    • Agnus (Aggie) HopeSchneider is a unit clerk in the Oncology Day Unit at LHSC’s London Regional Cancer Program. Recognized for demonstrating LHSC’s core values in “How We Serve Our Patients,” Aggie fosters a safe and approachable atmosphere for patients, and is always very professional and consistent with her care. Nomination letters describe how Aggie exemplifies the difference between just completing job duties, and performing them with dedication, heart and soul.
  • The President's Award for Leadership recognizes an individual at LHSC who demonstrates leadership capabilities that make a significant difference to the effectiveness of our organization. Rebecca Parkes is the Director of Talent Strategy and Development, and her nomination was supported by excerpts from more than 18 of her colleagues—including physicians, senior leaders, and a variety of staff members—whose careers have been directly impacted by Rebecca’s mentorship, guidance and support. Rebecca’s positive influence has impacted individuals, teams, the organization and the regional health care system through her strategic and thoughtful dedication to make a difference in the lives of others.
  • The President’s Award for Innovation recognizes an individual or team who has demonstrated innovation capabilities that have made a significant difference to the effectiveness of the organization. Dr. Roberto Hernandez-Alejandro was nominated for bringing an innovative surgical technique known as ALPPS (Associated Liver Partition and Portal Vein Ligation for Staged Hepatectomy) to London for patients with metastatic colorectal cancer to the liver. This surgery offers real hope of extending survival for a patient population that would otherwise live for less than one year.
  • Established to honour the leadership legacy of the late Dr. Murray Girotti, the President’s Award for Physician Leadership annually recognizes a physician who demonstrates the leadership qualities he exemplified. Dr. Andrew House is Chief of the Division of Nephrology whose practice spans 17 years at LHSC. Dr. House is described as exuding warmth and caring during interactions with all hospital staff, peers, patients and family members. A natural leader and teacher, Dr. House is a strong patient advocate and superb clinician who regularly role models for his peers what it means to go the extra mile for a patient.

Each winner received a stainless steel statue, and their names now appears on the perpetual plaques honouring located in the President’s Gallery at Victoria and University hospitals.

Group photo
This year’s 2015 President’s Award recipients are joined by (from left): LHSC Board Chair Tom Gergely, LHSC President and CEO Murray Glendining, and former President and CEO Tony Dagnone. Holding their awards in front of the President’s Gallery at LHSC’s University Hospital are Rebecca Parkes (Leadership), Joanne Clark (Community Service), Dr. Roberto Hernandez-Alejandro (Innovation), Kimberly Schlegel (Core Values – How We Work Together), and Agnus HopeSchneider (Core Values – How We Serve Our Patients).

To see more photos from the President's Awards Ceremony visit our Facebook album.