Introduction to Wound Healing

Phases of Wound Healing

Phases of wound healing

Four phases to wound healing:

A. Hemostasis

  • Immediate; 0 to 2 days in length
  • Thrombin converts to fibrinogen
  • Coagulation from dilated vessels

B. Inflammatory Phase

  • 2 to 4 days in length
  • Characterized by pain, redness, heat, swelling and loss of function at the site of injury
  • If inflammation lasts longer than 48-72 hours, look for evidence of new or ongoing tissue damage or infection
  • The body’s protective response to injury

C. Proliferative Phase

  • 4 to 21 days in length
  • Involves the rebuilding of tissue; Filling the wound by granulation, contracting the wound through contraction and converting the wound through epithelialization
  • Includes remodeling; Strengthens

D. Maturation Phase

  • Can take up to 2 years in length
  • Wound gains tensile strength
  • The wound appears to be healed but is actually closed over.  Collagen production and reorganization will be ongoing for two years.

return to Introduction to Wound Healing

back to top