Core Lab chemistry instrument and completed blood samples

Division of Core Labs

The Core Laboratories are located at all 3 sites across the city (Victoria Hospital, University Hospital, St. Joseph’s Hospital). Core Labs at Victoria and University Hospital and are staffed 24 hours a day, 7 days a week by a dedicated team of nearly 80 medical laboratory technologists. These automated labs perform thousands of tests each day in hematology, coagulation, chemistry and immunochemistry.

The Core Labs provide initial, rapid, ground testing and screening for all the hospital service areas and provide technical expertise and support to smaller laboratories in the community. The lab also works in partnership with other laboratories at LHSC to provide complete investigational results to the clinicians.

For more information CLICK HERE

Services include:

  • Volatile Gas Chromatography screening for South Western region. Screening for Ethanol, Methanol, Acetone, Isopropanol and Ethylene Glycol.
  • Aminoglycoside testing for South Western Ontario including Vancomycin.
  • Laboratory Services for Regional Mental Health – London and St. Thomas and Parkwood Hospital.
  • Collaborative partnership with Trillium Gift of Life to provide serology testing for the South Western region.
  • Research testing in collaboration with the University of Western Ontario and Lawson Health Research Institute.
  • Provides diagnostic expertise for hematology differential testing, fluid testing and clinical biochemistry support to the South Western Region.
  • Professional staff (biochemists and hematologists) provide support to the region as required.

Contacts:

Division Head:

Dr. Vipin Bhayana
vipin.bhayana@lhsc.on.ca
519-685-8500, ext. 35775

Coordinator:

Jennifer Bell
Core Lab UH and SJH
jennifer.bell@lhsc.on.ca
519-685-8500, ext. 35250

Coordinator:

Rick Ermacora
Core Lab VH
rick.ermacora@lhsc.on.ca
519-685-8500, ext. 52574

Coordinator:

Jade Bolsover
Specimen Receiving
jade.bolsover@lhsc.on.ca
519-685-8500, ext. 55285

Section Head:

Dr. Michael Knauer
michael.knauer@lhsc.on.ca
519-685-8500, ext. 52237

Senior Technologist:

Husam Abdoh
Core Lab VH
husam.abdoh@lhsc.on.ca
519-685-8500, ext. 52264

Senior Technologist:

Lois Stark
Core Lab VH
lois.stark@lhsc.on.ca
519-685-8500, ext. 55349

Senior Technologist:

Rick Moore
Core Lab SJH/VH
rick.moore@lhsc.on.ca
519-685-8500, ext. 52542

Senior Technologist:

Robert Whitmore
Core Lab UH
robert.whitmore@lhsc.on.ca
519-685-8500, ext. 34737

Senior Technologist:

Bill Richardson
Core Lab SJH/UH
bill.richardson@lhsc.on.ca
519-685-8500, ext. 36720

Senior Technologist:

Kylie McInerney
Core Lab UH
kylie.mcinerney@lhsc.on.ca
519-685-8500, ext. 35766
Schulich School of Medicine and Dentistry London Health Sciences CentreSt. Joseph's Health Care LondonWestern University