Education Advisory Committee

Provides strategic oversight to CSTAR simulation and CME programs and services, while upholding a focus on the promotion of quality, patient safety and inter-professional education. By bringing varied perspectives to the table, CSTAR benefits from a range of expertise, experiences and skills.


Committee Chair

Dr. Christopher Schlachta, Medical Director, CSTAR, Consultant, General Surgery

Schulich School of Medicine & Dentistry, Western University

Dr. Richard Cherry, Associate Dean, Learning with Technology & Simulation, Consultant, Anesthesia

Department of Medicine

Dr. Jeff Yu, Consultant, General Internal Medicine

Ana Malbrecht, Educational Coordinator

Critical Care Medicine &

In Situ Simulation

Dr. Robert Leeper, Consultant, Critical Care and General Surgery

Emergency Medicine

Dr. Mary Fotheringham, Simulation Director, Consultant, Emergency Medicine

Department of Surgery

Dr. Marie Eve Lebel, Simulation Lead, Consultant, Orthopedic Surgery

Dr. Brent Lanting, Consultant, Orthopedic Surgery

Terri MacDougall, Education Coordinator

Surgical Foundations Program

Dr. Julie Ann VanKoughnett, Program Director, Consultant, General Surgery

Fowler Kennedy Sports Medicine

Stacey Wanlin, Research Manager

Respiratory Therapy

Belinda Gougoulias, Coordinator

Nursing Professional Practice

Donna McAnallen, Manager

Patient Safety

Kayley Perfetto, Patient Safety Specialist


Andrew Mes, Director

Tara Oke, Coordinator

Stephanie Ayres, Simulation Consultant

Maria Quiroz, Learning Assistant