Universal masking is required at LHSC facilities. View our current COVID-19 measures.

Robert Dinniwell, MD, MSc, MScCH(HPTE), FRCPC, CIP


Dr. Dinniwell is the Division Chair/Chief of Radiation Oncology, South West Regional Radiation Clinical Lead and an Associate Professor in the Department of Oncology,

Schulich School of Medicine and Dentistry, Western University.


Dr. Dinniwell completed his Medical Degree at Queen's University, Kingston and subsequently pursued his Residency in Radiation Oncology at McMaster University, Hamilton and the University of Toronto.  Following his specialty certification, Dr. Dinniwell undertook a two-year research fellowship as a Strategic Training Fellow in the CIHR-Excellence in Radiation Research for the 21st Century Program. He subsequently joined Princess Margaret Hospital and University of Toronto as a member of the Department of Radiation Oncology.  During his time in Toronto he had pursued advanced Masters level training in education and healthcare leadership through the University of Toronto.  He built a clinical practice focused on breast and gastrointestinal tumors as well as the management of radiation late effects.  


Dr. Dinniwell has been an active educator and researcher, participating actively in the teaching of undergraduate students and residents and conducting clinical research with a strong track record of peer reviewed grants and publications.  Most recently, Dr. Dinniwell has led the Ontario Association of Radiation Oncologists at the Provincial level and has been deeply engaged in the successful negotiation of a harmonized Oncology Alternate Funding Plan that includes Medical, Radiation and Gynecologic Oncology practice groups.

His current research interests include radiotherapy target volume delineation, medical education and radiation late effects. He presently works within the gastrointestinal and breast site groups and the Adult Radiation Late Effects Clinic at the Princess Margaret Hospital. He is presently Chair of the Ontario Association of Radiation Oncologists and Co-Chair of the Ontario Oncology Association.