President’s Award Program recognizes the extraordinary people at LHSC


For Immediate Release:
December 14, 2018

(LONDON, Ontario) – Today at a special ceremony, Dr. Paul Woods, President and CEO of London Health Sciences Centre (LHSC) recognized 17 nominees and awarded five recipients, including three individuals and two teams, with a 2018 President’s Award.

“I am thrilled to recognize all of these remarkable individuals and teams, whose consistent demonstration of values, leadership and innovative approaches to improving care are making a positive difference for our colleagues, patients, and community” says Dr. Woods.

Now in its twelfth year, the President’s Award Program at LHSC celebrates staff, physicians and volunteers for their efforts in a number of categories, recognizing those who go above and beyond to serve patients, colleagues, and the community. This year the following awards were presented:

  • The President's Awards for Living Our Core Values recognize two individuals or teams who consistently demonstrate LHSC's values of compassion, teamwork, curiosity and accountability - one focused on how we work together and the other on how we serve our patients.

Lori O’Brien, Nursing Professional Practice Consultant, has been recognized by her colleagues for demonstrating LHSC’s core values in "how we work together."

Social Work Team - Women's Care & NICU, including Kim Gray, Antonella Giancola Thompson, Young Kim, Dolores Baldissera, Heather Small, and Kasha Herba, is recognized for demonstrating LHSC's core values in "how we serve our patients.”

  • The President's Award for Leadership recognizes leaders at LHSC – both formal and informal - who demonstrate leadership capabilities that make a significant difference to the effectiveness of our organization. This year’s recipient is Suzanne Schwab, Manager, Medical Device Reprocessing.
  • The President’s Award for Innovation recognizes an individual or team who has demonstrated innovation capabilities that have made significant advances to the organization. This year’s recipient is the Patient Oriented Discharge Summary (PODS) Team (Phase 1) - UH Acute Medicine. The team includes Dr. Andrew Appleton, Claire Martin, Dr. Alan Gob, Dr. Erin Spicer, Andrea Cowan, Ann Turcotte, Anne Forster, Tara Caslick, Anne Leckie, Vicky Baroudi, Lisa Dawtrey, Tammy Steele, Tammy Fisher, Helen Sumpter, Carolyn Burke, Kristine Millman, Betty Mayville, Beccy Roden, Sherry Ostapiuk, Michelle Hennessey, Donna Simpson, Robin Francis, and Sue Vollbrecht.
  • Established to honour the leadership legacy of the late Dr. Murray Girotti, the President's Award for Physician Leadership recognizes physicians who demonstrate the leadership qualities he exemplified. This year’s recipient is Dr. Kylea Potvin, Medical Oncologist.

You can visit the President's Award website for recipient bios. 

About London Health Sciences Centre
London Health Sciences Centre has been at the forefront of medicine in Canada for 142 years and offers the broadest range of specialized clinical services in Ontario. Building on the traditions of its founding hospitals to provide compassionate care in an academic teaching setting, London Health Sciences Centre is home to Children’s Hospital, University Hospital, Victoria Hospital, the Kidney Care Centre, two family medical centres, and two research institutes – Children’s Health Research Institute and Lawson Health Research Institute. As a leader in medical discovery and health research, London Health Sciences Centre has a history of over 70 international and national firsts and attracts top clinicians and researchers from around the world. As a regional referral centre, London Health Sciences Centre cares for the most medically complex patients including critically injured adults and children in southwestern Ontario and beyond. The hospital’s nearly 15,000 staff, physicians, students and volunteers provide care for more than one million patient visits a year. For more information visit

- 30 -

For media inquiries contact:                                                 

Tori Laird
Corporate Communications and Public Relations
519-685-8500, ext. 77127 / pager 17040

After-hours assistance:
Call LHSC Switchboard at 519-685-8500 and ask to page the communication consultant on-call

Visit the LHSC Media web site at
Like us on Facebook at LHSC Canada, follow us on Twitter @LHSCCanada and watch us on YouTube at LHSCCanada.